Sponsor Links
   |   Home
Free Web Hosting Review of:

RipWay

Website:
RipWay
http://www.ripway.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Your URL:
/yoursite
WebSpace:
30 MB
Traffic:
9 GB
Forced Ads:
No ads (bannerless)
Your Ads:
Allowed.
Upload:
FTP, Browser
Email:
-
Site Builder:
-
Forum:
-
Blog:
-
Gallery:
-
Webpoll:
-
Guestbook:
-
Scripting:
PHP
Misc Features:
# Bandwidth limit 9,000 MB/month (300 MB/day). # Instant activation. # Online file storage allowed. # 30-days Inactivity limit. # Maximum file size limit 10 MB. # Flash, MP3, and all file types allowed. 
Points:
B- (60/125) ?
User Ratings:
Email a friend about this web host.
Printer friendly format
Submit a RipWay review
Customer Reviews    Showing 14 reviews
 Reviewed on 2008-11-25 (IP: 86.62.x.x) - Rated: 5
Overall Rating
Reliability & Uptime
Customer Support
Tech Support
Average score: 5
201 of 430 people found this review helpful

I have been using ripway more than a year now, and generally I am really satisfied with it. The web hosting is free and has NO forced ads, which is hard to find nowadays. It is also reliable, and the server is fast enough for me. I totally recommend ripway for people who do not need much webspace. One downside is that they will disable your website if you did not login for a while.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No (report this)
 Reviewed on 2008-11-21 (IP: 189.163.x.x) - Rated: 4.5
Overall Rating
Reliability & Uptime
Customer Support
Tech Support
Average score: 4.5
202 of 412 people found this review helpful

This hosting is good for the little bandwidth and small site. The loading speed is fair enough. I have been using this for 2 years without any problems. The only bad thing is the 1-month inactivity limit -- it is required to do something in the account every 30 days, but that is a little bit silly action for someone not very frequently updating their web site.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No (report this)
 Reviewed on 2008-11-08 (IP: 88.107.x.x) - Rated: 4.5
Overall Rating
Reliability & Uptime
Customer Support
Tech Support
Average score: 4.5
224 of 524 people found this review helpful

Ripway is a great host with few negative feedbacks. They have super-fast support and not to mention that the servers are speedy also. There are, however, a few negative aspects. I do not like the h1 part located in every free user's website name. Also, when you add www. to the link, it does not work properly. I would definitely suggest this free web space host to other people. It is an amazing host with many positive features. The majority of the time the web servers are very quick. There is the occasional times when it is slightly slow. I am not pleased with the limited number of features. I realize that I am a non-paying hosting member, but a few more features would be nice. I believe that they should let us host at least one MySQL database because you usually can not have a successful website without one.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No (report this)
 Reviewed on 2008-10-21 (IP: 80.74.x.x) - Rated: 3.5
Overall Rating
Reliability & Uptime
Customer Support
Tech Support
Average score: 3.5
217 of 426 people found this review helpful

I downloaded a song about a week ago, and today it says my account is temporary locked because I used more than the 24hr period allowance of bandwidth. I downloaded the song a week ago! Why is it happening again today? I don't understand. it is ridiculous. I only have 1 song on my account, and stop temporary locking it for the same song that is ALREADY downloaded.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No (report this)
 Reviewed on 2008-10-18 (IP: 87.216.x.x) - Rated: 4
Overall Rating
Reliability & Uptime
Customer Support
Tech Support
Average score: 4
206 of 404 people found this review helpful

ripway is a really great service. I have nothing bad to say about it, except for the fact that there is a certain limit to the times a hosted song may be downloading. that is killing me. I originally tried ripway, thinking if it was good I would pay for a premium membership, but the fact that paying up to $40 for a membership, and having a limit is turning me off. even so, I would recommend this free web hosting service. It is excellent in my opinion, except for that little fault. this webhosting is extremely fast and reliable, but again, it leaves me hanging when I have reached my downloading capacity limit. I love the fact that this is easy to use, understandable, and far from rocket science, which a lot of other freehosting places are. I will keep using this host, but I doubt I will pay for the service until the whole downloading capacity issue is perhaps adjusted.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No (report this)
 Reviewed on 2008-10-15 (IP: 202.125.x.x) - Rated: 5
Overall Rating
Reliability & Uptime
Customer Support
Tech Support
Average score: 5
234 of 462 people found this review helpful

This is a great free web hosting site. They don't care what kind of file type you upload, so I can store all of my css, ico, ibf files, and any file extension I want. If you join their blog, you also get more free bandwidth.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No (report this)
 Reviewed on 2008-10-11 (IP: 194.125.x.x) - Rated: 3
Overall Rating
Reliability & Uptime
Customer Support
Tech Support
Average score: 3
250 of 493 people found this review helpful

Ripway is terrible. I have only downloaded one or two songs since I opened this account, and somehow it says I have downloaded a number of songs in the past 24 hours. I had another Ripway account but I closed it because I was constantly being put over my daily download limit, sometimes on days when I was not even download anything. I suggest you make Ripway more secure if you want to have a successful site.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No (report this)
 Reviewed on 2008-10-08 (IP: 24.200.x.x) - Rated: 5
Overall Rating
Reliability & Uptime
Customer Support
Tech Support
Average score: 5
207 of 433 people found this review helpful

I often recommend this free hosting web site. the only thing I would prefer is for the images that are uploaded to show as a thumbnail with the linkcodes. I have been with Ripway for nearly 2 years now, and in all that time have only had one downtime to my knowledge. I think Ripway is to be commended for allowing this web hosting service to remain free. Thank you

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No (report this)
 Reviewed on 2008-10-01 (IP: 65.61.x.x) - Rated: 4.5
Overall Rating
Reliability & Uptime
Customer Support
Tech Support
Average score: 4.5
197 of 441 people found this review helpful

I like this free file hoster site. It is great to host my TXTs and other small docs. I do not need large bandwidth, so it is perfect to me :)

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No (report this)
 Reviewed on 2008-09-25 (IP: 213.202.x.x) - Rated: 4.5
Overall Rating
Reliability & Uptime
Customer Support
Tech Support
Average score: 4.5
217 of 487 people found this review helpful

I think that the upload limit for free accounts should be added to 15MB per file. Honestly, Ripway is good, but it is just that I can not upload some of my favourite songs because some of the song file sizes are more than 10MB. I can not sign up as a premium member either, as I do not have a credit card. If the Ripway team would upgrade it, I will really, really appreciate it. Yep, I would certainly recommend this free hosting website, although I have barely used it for more than half a year. Still, it is good. I do not know if there are downtimes, because I certainly never experienced them before.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No (report this)
 Reviewed on 2008-09-15 (IP: 202.141.x.x) - Rated: 4.8
Overall Rating
Reliability & Uptime
Customer Support
Tech Support
Average score: 4.8
225 of 439 people found this review helpful

I have been using ripway more than a year now, and generally I am really satisfied with it. The web hosting is free and has NO forced ads, which is hard to find nowadays. It is also reliable, and the server is fast enough for me. I totally recommend ripway for people who do not need much webspace. One downside is that they will disable your website if you did not login for a while.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No (report this)
 Reviewed on 2008-09-05 (IP: 24.144.x.x) - Rated: 4
Overall Rating
Reliability & Uptime
Customer Support
Tech Support
Average score: 4
239 of 469 people found this review helpful

It's okay.. the only problem is your url is a bunch of numbers.. I'm planning on switching to a different host.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No (report this)
 Reviewed on 2008-08-22 (IP: 125.16.x.x) - Rated: 5
Overall Rating
Reliability & Uptime
Customer Support
Tech Support
Average score: 5
223 of 429 people found this review helpful

Ripway is the best free webspace choice for me! It's so cool, but please add some more file storage space size.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No (report this)
 Reviewed on 2008-08-15 (IP: 72.4.x.x) - Rated: 5
Overall Rating N/A
Reliability & Uptime N/A
Customer Support
Tech Support
Average score: 5
261 of 494 people found this review helpful

The website is ok, but every single day the music codes on my free webpage stop working. Sometimes they stop working for two maybe even three days and it is very very annoying. Right now all of my songs have been disabled even though I put the codes in about 3 days ago and haven't re-entered them or anything. I've just left them on there, now almost every evening the song doesn't work. I know it's something to do with bandwidth but I don't understand it [Seems your music file was downloaded too many times such that it exceeded your bandwidth limit]. Apart from that the service is ok. I like that it creates codes automatically for music files etc.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No (report this)